UWC-USA: 50 days

As Andre Gide once said, “Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore.” In less than 50 days, I will be at UWC-USA meeting the people whom I will spend the next two years of my life with. I’ve lived in Dallas, Texas for most of my life. And on August 12th, I will leave this city to move to Montezuma, New Mexico: a city that most people have never heard of. I’m going to be leaving so much behind; I won’t even bother making a list. Of course, at first I may not realize that I’ve left things behind and started a new chapter of my life. But soon enough, it’ll kick in. It’ll be hard, but definitely worth it. Now, many of you may be wondering what exactly UWC is, right? What is this school in the middle of nowhere that I’m going to be spending two years at? So, here’s a little about UWC, otherwise known as United World College… UWC was founded in 1962 with the intention of creating a community based on “shared learning, collaboration, and understanding”. The goal is to create a multicultural environment that challenges its students and allows them to grow. The mission states that “UWC makes education a force to unite people, nations and cultures for peace and a sustainable future”. SInce the opening of the first United World College in the UK, the UWC movement has spread to 13 other locations: Swaziland, Hong Kong, India, Singapore, Italy, Armenia, the Netherlands, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Norway, Germany, Canada, USA, and Costa Rica. I am going to be attending UWC-USA, which is located in Montezuma, New Mexico (a couple hours outside of Albuquerque). Once August rolls around, I plan on blogging at least once every week, so keep checking to get updates on my life at UWC-USA. And of course, you can follow my blog by signing up on the right. That way, you will get an email every time I add a new post. By the way, I’ve decided to end each blog post with an interesting and thought-provoking quote, so here goes! “You’re someone who is different, but who wants to be the same as everyone else. And that, in my view, is a serious illness.” – Paulo Coelho, Veronika Decides to Die

Leave a comment